Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established in Tbilisi State University in 1992. After introduction of two-step academic system, bachelor’s and master’s programs in Political Science were introduced in 1999. And in 2005 Political Science department became one of the units of Faculty of Social and Political Sciences.

Political Science Department and its BA, MA and PhD programmes bring together in-depth expertise in most areas of Political Science, namely covering political theory, comparative politics and party systems, regional studies focusing on central and eastern Europe and South Caucasus, corruption, public policy and administration, citizenship education and civic activism, geopolitics and political violence. 

The department’s Georgian and international faculty and invited academics are trained and/or working in the fields of political science, cultural studies, nationalism studies, peace and conflict studies, sociology, law and public administration bringing in interdisciplinary approaches in teaching and research carried out at the department.